Prevent Simultaneous Logins – Restrict Members to One Active Session

This Article Applies to
OTHER Articles Available

Overview

This setting allows you to disable multiple logins for a user, meaning that they can’t be logged in from more than one place or have more than one session at the same time.

If the user account is already in use, and a second login takes place, the first login will be disconnected immediately. We do this instead of preventing the second login to prevent an inactive browser left open, or user who closed their browser without logging out from accidentally locking themselves out of their own account.

When this setting is disabled, set to NO, a single user account can have as many active sessions as they want.

Use Cases

The main use case for preventing simultaneous logins is to deter account sharing – many people using a single, paid account.

By enabling this setting, you’re making account sharing almost pointless as if someone else logs in then the current user’s session will be closed (they’ll be logged out). Account sharing may still be possible, but it’ll become more difficult.

In cases where you find this happening a lot, consider selling your customers additional logins at a reduced rate or including the ability to “add 3 team members” to their account using Umbrella Accounts.

Increasing Security

You can increase security by using this feature in conjunction with the Maximum Login IPs setting located beneath the toggle switch.

The “Maximum Login IPs” defines the number of different IP addresses that a user can log in from within a certain period of time controlled by the other setting just below it “Maximum Login Window (Hours)”.

Using all three settings in combination prevents members from sharing accounts in both private and corporate environments.

 

Related Posts


  • Was this Helpful?
  • YesNo
9 ways to add more value to your membership site

Table of Contents

This Article Applies to

Keep Reading

Gravity Forms Integration

Gravity FormsMemberium supports GravityForms automatically. No special extensions, setup steps or settings are necessary. Using an autofill technique will make your forms easier and friendlier to use. Now you don’t need to require your logged in visitors to resubmit their information again.

Read More »

Private Comments

Memberium’s Private Comments feature gives you the ability to easily make comments for any page or post private, so that only the administrators, the author of the page/post, and the author of the comment can see the comment on the page.

Read More »

Want to get some fresh ideas on how you can improve your membership site or course?

Download our free ebook!

Book a Call

Welcome to Memberium!

We are very excited for you to be part of our family. 

We would love to answer any questions that you have!

Please choose the best time for you to get in a call with us. 

For Technical Support, you can contact us at https://keap.memberium.com/support/ or Email us at support@memberium.com.